A Audio and hi-fi forum. AudioBanter.com

Go Back   Home » AudioBanter.com forum » rec.audio » Pro Audio
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Is Logic X 10.3 or older totally unavailable?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 3rd 20, 02:03 AM posted to rec.audio.pro
T.W. Day
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3
Default Is Logic X 10.3 or older totally unavailable?

I'm a retired recording engineer who just messes with small town stuff for the fun of it in my dotage. I recently stepped up to a new-to-me Mac Pro 3,1 so that I could run El Capitan and Pro Tools 11 (I retired in early 13 and PTZ 10 was my DAW at the time). Somehow, in the move from my old home to our downsized retirement home, I lost my copy of Logic 9. Since I could run an older version (10.3 or older) of Logic Pro X on El Capitan, I thought I'd go to apple and buy it. But NOOOO! Good old customer hostile Apple thinks eliminating any backwards path for users who haven't kept up with their weekly OS and hardware changes will force them to buy new gear. As a last ditch effort, before dumping Logic and moving to either Studio One (and maybe dumping the Mac altogether, since everything else I do except music is on a Windows machine) or going back to Cubase for MIDI and instrument/loop based music. PT mostly sucks for that kind of composition work.

Suggestions? Please.
Ads
  #2  
Old March 3rd 20, 02:20 AM posted to rec.audio.pro
geoff
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,597
Default Is Logic X 10.3 or older totally unavailable?

On 3/03/2020 3:03 pm, T.W. Day wrote:
> I'm a retired recording engineer who just messes with small town stuff for the fun of it in my dotage. I recently stepped up to a new-to-me Mac Pro 3,1 so that I could run El Capitan and Pro Tools 11 (I retired in early 13 and PTZ 10 was my DAW at the time). Somehow, in the move from my old home to our downsized retirement home, I lost my copy of Logic 9. Since I could run an older version (10.3 or older) of Logic Pro X on El Capitan, I thought I'd go to apple and buy it. But NOOOO! Good old customer hostile Apple thinks eliminating any backwards path for users who haven't kept up with their weekly OS and hardware changes will force them to buy new gear. As a last ditch effort, before dumping Logic and moving to either Studio One (and maybe dumping the Mac altogether, since everything else I do except music is on a Windows machine) or going back to Cubase for MIDI and instrument/loop based music. PT mostly sucks for that kind of composition work.
>
> Suggestions? Please.
>


If you have a reasonably-specced Window PC lying around try the original
for that sort of thing - Acid (currently Acid Pro 9).

geoff
  #3  
Old March 4th 20, 05:11 PM posted to rec.audio.pro
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 614
Default Is Logic X 10.3 or older totally unavailable?

..
> >
> > Suggestions? Please.

>


Try N Track Studio on Windows

Mark

  #4  
Old March 5th 20, 10:05 PM posted to rec.audio.pro
polymod
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 538
Default Is Logic X 10.3 or older totally unavailable?



wrote in message
...

..
> >
> > Suggestions? Please.

>


Try N Track Studio on Windows
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>


You can also try Reaper. Lean and mean with little fluff and pretty much
totally customizable.
Fully functional demo and the price is right.
https://www.reaper.fm/

Poly

  #5  
Old March 20th 20, 10:57 PM posted to rec.audio.pro
nickbatz
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 152
Default Is Logic X 10.3 or older totally unavailable?

This has been a while, but I'm sure I have Logic 9 here on my drive.

It won't run unless you've paid for it, so I have no problem emailing it to you.
  #6  
Old March 27th 20, 03:44 AM posted to rec.audio.pro
T.W. Day
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3
Default Is Logic X 10.3 or older totally unavailable?

On Monday, March 2, 2020 at 8:03:06 PM UTC-6, T.W. Day wrote:
> I'm a retired recording engineer who just messes with small town stuff for the fun of it in my dotage. I recently stepped up to a new-to-me Mac Pro 3,1 so that I could run El Capitan and Pro Tools 11 (I retired in early 13 and PTZ 10 was my DAW at the time). Somehow, in the move from my old home to our downsized retirement home, I lost my copy of Logic 9. Since I could run an older version (10.3 or older) of Logic Pro X on El Capitan, I thought I'd go to apple and buy it. But NOOOO! Good old customer hostile Apple thinks eliminating any backwards path for users who haven't kept up with their weekly OS and hardware changes will force them to buy new gear. As a last ditch effort, before dumping Logic and moving to either Studio One (and maybe dumping the Mac altogether, since everything else I do except music is on a Windows machine) or going back to Cubase for MIDI and instrument/loop based music. PT mostly sucks for that kind of composition work.
>
> Suggestions? Please.


Through a really complicated route, I did find a copy of 10.3. Now, I just need stuff in my house to quit breaking so that I can work with it. Thanks for the advice.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Headphone outs when line-out unavailable Karl Engel Pro Audio 4 November 21st 06 05:52 AM
I totally agree [email protected] Audio Opinions 0 April 9th 05 06:47 AM
logic 6 pro or logic platinum or digital performer Matt Pro Audio 3 May 29th 04 09:53 PM
logic 6 pro or logic platinum or digital performer Matt Pro Audio 0 May 27th 04 10:04 PM
logic 6 pro or logic platinum or digital performer Matt Pro Audio 0 May 27th 04 10:04 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2020 AudioBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.