#1   Report Post  
Posted to rec.audio.tubes
external usenet poster

Default horizontal tubes

hi!

i have no previous experience in building tube amps, and for my first
project i want to build small 5W guitar/bass amp head.
it will be simplified version of h&k b.a.t.t.:

http://hughesandkettnermicroamps.wee...ss-master.html

i'm a bit concerned about horizontal tube position which is necessary in
order to achieve low profile design that i'm lookin for.

is there any serious drawback with tubes if they are used like that?

tnx!

#2   Report Post  
external usenet poster

Default horizontal tubes

On Friday, 14 September 2012 23:01:03 UTC+10, ZeeTso wrote:
hi! i have no previous experience in building tube amps, and for my first project i want to build small 5W guitar/bass amp head. it will be simplified version of h&k b.a.t.t.: http://hughesandkettnermicroamps.wee...ss-master.html i'm a bit concerned about horizontal tube position which is necessary in order to achieve low profile design that i'm lookin for. is there any serious drawback with tubes if they are used like that? tnx!

The 12AX7 and EL84 are OK horizontal. But I am concerned that because the amp box is a flat shallow box like those used for 1,001 solid state amps, ppl could forget to keep the ventilation holes in the top plate un-obstructed by CDs, books, and much other junk that ppl put dowen on an available flat surface in a crowded messy evironment. Left turned on with something covering vent holes, expect temperature to rise alarmingly on warm days and hence the electrolytics may become damaged and other things may go wrong. No electronic circuits like working at say 85C or higher for long periods so make sure venitlation is OK.
If T goes high, one often sees that the plastic label wrap around electro caps can shrink and split. The caps keep working, but have a reduced life. So the wrapping shrink can indicate how hot things are getting in the box.