A Audio and hi-fi forum. AudioBanter.com

Go Back   Home » AudioBanter.com forum » rec.audio » Pro Audio
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Blast from Past w/ Migrating Plugin question



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 20th 21, 07:40 PM posted to rec.audio.pro
Barry B
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 30
Default Blast from Past w/ Migrating Plugin question

Hi, all... Scott, Les, and Peter I recognize from well over 20 years ago when I used to frequent this on usenet... back when did CD compilations, Hank Aldrich, Lyle Caldwell... great days, and I learned a lot from all of you. Much appreciated.

I've been a constant musician, but have left and returned to the behind-the-mic scene a few times over the decades. I have a small session coming up on Monday. The following isn't a make-or-break by ANY means... but it's frustrating me and I'm hoping some w/ more computer expertise than I can help me.

Situation - on my first DAW, based on an ancient pentium machine running XP and Sek'd Samplitude 4.5, I had purchased a reverb plugin that I really liked, and was kind of respected back then in the serious amateur market, anyway.... Sonic Timeworks 4080L . That machine still works, but I'm using a much better machine and interface now, based on Win 7 and Samp 11.5 and I'd like to migrate that plugin from the old machine to the new one, but can't figure out how. Sonic Timeworks is gone. I have my registration # written down, but can't find any saved installation file, nor do the readme files I have give any information about installation or re-installation.

The files I have for the plugin in are in a directory labeled "Reverb 4080L", containing three text files (README, LICENSE, and INSTALL), an uninst.isu file, and a bin subfolder. The bin folder contains trvb.ax and trvb.hlp, and another subfolder containing a bunch of presets I had created years ago.. That's all I can find. I believe the .ax file is the plugin itself.

I've tried moving that entire file structure to the new machine and pointing Samplitude to that folder... nope. Tried moving the .ax file to the windows system32 directory and using "regsvr32 trvb.ax" to register it, but that didn't work either... returns a "couldn't find the file" type of message.

Searched the worldwideinterwebs for an installation file, but no reputable sources and I don't do irreputable sources.

Does anyone know if there's a way to move this plugin? Would be very grateful for any help or suggestions.

Thanks, and glad to see some familiar names. Best to all!

Barry
Ads
  #2  
Old March 20th 21, 09:17 PM posted to rec.audio.pro
Mike Rivers[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,174
Default Blast from Past w/ Migrating Plugin question

On 3/20/2021 3:40 PM, Barry B wrote:
> Does anyone know if there's a way to move this plugin? Would be very grateful for any help or suggestions. Searched the worldwideinterwebs for an installation file, but no reputable sources and I don't do irreputable sources.


Obsolete software is worse than obsolete hardware. Sometimes you can fix
hardware, but the software isn't broken, it just doesn't work with your
other software.

Generally there's a registration file buried somewhere that they figure
you'll never find it. You're on the right track asking here if anyone
else has used that plug-in and might know something, but your chances
are slim to none.

Your time might be better spent trying out a few of the free or free
demo reverbs available today. Try doing a search for "best free reverb
plug-ins" and see what pops up from multiple sources. That's probably a
good place to start.

KVR Audio and Voxengo are a couple of reliable sources for audio
software that's both free and of decent quality.

--
For a good time, call http://mikeriversaudio.wordpress.com
  #3  
Old March 20th 21, 10:02 PM posted to rec.audio.pro
Barry B
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 30
Default Blast from Past w/ Migrating Plugin question

Thanks, Mike. I remember you too, very well... glad to see you're still here! I've got a couple other 'verb plugins, one of which I like OK, but that Timeworks had such a nice, fairly natural sound and simple interface that dialing in something quick for a rough mix after a session to keep a client happy was a pleasure. I can massage some presets into the ones I have that will work for the same purpose, I guess. Was just hoping to get some more use out my 1998's $129, which is what.... a couple grand now?
  #4  
Old March 21st 21, 03:26 AM posted to rec.audio.pro
Ron C[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 251
Default Blast from Past w/ Migrating Plugin question

On 3/20/2021 6:02 PM, Barry B wrote:
> Thanks, Mike. I remember you too, very well... glad to see you're
> still here! I've got a couple other 'verb plugins, one of which I
> like OK, but that Timeworks had such a nice, fairly natural sound and
> simple interface that dialing in something quick for a rough mix
> after a session to keep a client happy was a pleasure. I can massage
> some presets into the ones I have that will work for the same
> purpose, I guess. Was just hoping to get some more use out my 1998's
> $129, which is what.... a couple grand now? >


Odd thought: Create impulse responses for presets on your old XP machine
and use them with a convolution reverb plug-in on your modern machine.
~~
Kind of messy indirect work flow but might work.

I've done stuff like that using Sound Forge's Acoustic Mirror.

--
==
Later...
Ron Capik
--
  #5  
Old March 21st 21, 08:27 AM posted to rec.audio.pro
John Williamson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,747
Default Blast from Past w/ Migrating Plugin question

On 20/03/2021 19:40, Barry B wrote:

> Searched the worldwideinterwebs for an installation file, but no reputable sources and I don't do irreputable sources.
>
> Does anyone know if there's a way to move this plugin? Would be very grateful for any help or suggestions.
>
> Thanks, and glad to see some familiar names. Best to all!
>
> Barry
>

Say thank you very much for the Wayback machine, and feel free to send
them a few bucks, as they have got many people out of trouble, and are
my first port of call in cases like yours. This link is to a demo
version, so if you have your old licence key, you can turn it into a
full version. It installed here on Windows 10 64 bit.

You will need to install the earlier Windows Help program to access the
help file, as it is not in Windows 8 or later, and you will need to find
a way to install a compatible version of DirectShow. This is the latest
versiin which has been saved, and dates from 2007. My security suite
says it is clean.

https://web.archive.org/web/20070305...080l.1.1.3.zip

--
Tciao for Now!

John.
  #6  
Old March 21st 21, 02:39 PM posted to rec.audio.pro
Barry B
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 30
Default Blast from Past w/ Migrating Plugin question

On Sunday, March 21, 2021 at 4:27:18 AM UTC-4, John Williamson wrote:
> On 20/03/2021 19:40, Barry B wrote:
>
> > Searched the worldwideinterwebs for an installation file, but no reputable sources and I don't do irreputable sources.
> >
> > Does anyone know if there's a way to move this plugin? Would be very grateful for any help or suggestions.
> >
> > Thanks, and glad to see some familiar names. Best to all!
> >
> > Barry
> >

> Say thank you very much for the Wayback machine, and feel free to send
> them a few bucks, as they have got many people out of trouble, and are
> my first port of call in cases like yours. This link is to a demo
> version, so if you have your old licence key, you can turn it into a
> full version. It installed here on Windows 10 64 bit.
>
> You will need to install the earlier Windows Help program to access the
> help file, as it is not in Windows 8 or later, and you will need to find
> a way to install a compatible version of DirectShow. This is the latest
> versiin which has been saved, and dates from 2007. My security suite
> says it is clean.
>
> https://web.archive.org/web/20070305...080l.1.1.3.zip
>
> --
> Tciao for Now!
>
> John.

John..

My MAN!! I HAD checked the wayback machine, but could only find sites from 2006 for SonicTimeworks, and none of the links on those pages worked. I can't thank you enough.. am going to try getting it installed now, and will report back.

Thanks again!
Barry
  #7  
Old March 21st 21, 02:51 PM posted to rec.audio.pro
polymod
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 577
Default Blast from Past w/ Migrating Plugin question



"Barry B" wrote in message
...

Hi, all... Scott, Les, and Peter I recognize from well over 20 years ago
when I used to frequent this on usenet... back when did CD compilations,
Hank Aldrich, Lyle Caldwell... great days, and I learned a lot from all of
you. Much appreciated.

I've been a constant musician, but have left and returned to the
behind-the-mic scene a few times over the decades. I have a small session
coming up on Monday. The following isn't a make-or-break by ANY means... but
it's frustrating me and I'm hoping some w/ more computer expertise than I
can help me.

Situation - on my first DAW, based on an ancient pentium machine running XP
and Sek'd Samplitude 4.5, I had purchased a reverb plugin that I really
liked, and was kind of respected back then in the serious amateur market,
anyway.... Sonic Timeworks 4080L . That machine still works, but I'm using a
much better machine and interface now, based on Win 7 and Samp 11.5 and I'd
like to migrate that plugin from the old machine to the new one, but can't
figure out how. Sonic Timeworks is gone. I have my registration # written
down, but can't find any saved installation file, nor do the readme files I
have give any information about installation or re-installation.

The files I have for the plugin in are in a directory labeled "Reverb
4080L", containing three text files (README, LICENSE, and INSTALL), an
uninst.isu file, and a bin subfolder. The bin folder contains trvb.ax and
trvb.hlp, and another subfolder containing a bunch of presets I had created
years ago. That's all I can find. I believe the .ax file is the plugin
itself.

I've tried moving that entire file structure to the new machine and pointing
Samplitude to that folder... nope. Tried moving the .ax file to the windows
system32 directory and using "regsvr32 trvb.ax" to register it, but that
didn't work either... returns a "couldn't find the file" type of message.

Searched the worldwideinterwebs for an installation file, but no reputable
sources and I don't do irreputable sources.

Does anyone know if there's a way to move this plugin? Would be very
grateful for any help or suggestions.

Thanks, and glad to see some familiar names. Best to all!
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>


If I'm not mistaken the Timeworks reverb (which I had, loved, used for many
years) will not work if your machine is 64 bit.
I've had to ditch quite a few favorites over the years. There are some 32
bit plugins that will bridge in my system, but Timeworks verb/ EQ are ones
that will not.

I think I might have the installation file for this plugin laying around
somewhere if you're interested.

Poly


--
This email has been checked for viruses by Avast antivirus software.
https://www.avast.com/antivirus

  #8  
Old March 21st 21, 03:13 PM posted to rec.audio.pro
Barry B
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 30
Default Blast from Past w/ Migrating Plugin question

On Sunday, March 21, 2021 at 10:51:10 AM UTC-4, polymod wrote:
> "Barry B" wrote in message
> ...
> Hi, all... Scott, Les, and Peter I recognize from well over 20 years ago
> when I used to frequent this on usenet... back when did CD compilations,
> Hank Aldrich, Lyle Caldwell... great days, and I learned a lot from all of
> you. Much appreciated.
>
> I've been a constant musician, but have left and returned to the
> behind-the-mic scene a few times over the decades. I have a small session
> coming up on Monday. The following isn't a make-or-break by ANY means... but
> it's frustrating me and I'm hoping some w/ more computer expertise than I
> can help me.
>
> Situation - on my first DAW, based on an ancient pentium machine running XP
> and Sek'd Samplitude 4.5, I had purchased a reverb plugin that I really
> liked, and was kind of respected back then in the serious amateur market,
> anyway.... Sonic Timeworks 4080L . That machine still works, but I'm using a
> much better machine and interface now, based on Win 7 and Samp 11.5 and I'd
> like to migrate that plugin from the old machine to the new one, but can't
> figure out how. Sonic Timeworks is gone. I have my registration # written
> down, but can't find any saved installation file, nor do the readme files I
> have give any information about installation or re-installation.
>
> The files I have for the plugin in are in a directory labeled "Reverb
> 4080L", containing three text files (README, LICENSE, and INSTALL), an
> uninst.isu file, and a bin subfolder. The bin folder contains trvb.ax and
> trvb.hlp, and another subfolder containing a bunch of presets I had created
> years ago. That's all I can find. I believe the .ax file is the plugin
> itself.
>
> I've tried moving that entire file structure to the new machine and pointing
> Samplitude to that folder... nope. Tried moving the .ax file to the windows
> system32 directory and using "regsvr32 trvb.ax" to register it, but that
> didn't work either... returns a "couldn't find the file" type of message.
>
> Searched the worldwideinterwebs for an installation file, but no reputable
> sources and I don't do irreputable sources.
>
> Does anyone know if there's a way to move this plugin? Would be very
> grateful for any help or suggestions.
>
> Thanks, and glad to see some familiar names. Best to all!
> >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

> If I'm not mistaken the Timeworks reverb (which I had, loved, used for many
> years) will not work if your machine is 64 bit.
> I've had to ditch quite a few favorites over the years. There are some 32
> bit plugins that will bridge in my system, but Timeworks verb/ EQ are ones
> that will not.
>
> I think I might have the installation file for this plugin laying around
> somewhere if you're interested.
>
> Poly
>
>
> --
> This email has been checked for viruses by Avast antivirus software.
> https://www.avast.com/antivirus


Thanks, Poly... The link John provided worked great, and I've downloaded the installation .zip packaged, installed it successfully, and was also able to input my (thankfully!!!) saved registration code from back when I purchased it. Unfortunately, as John mentioned would probably be the case, Samplitude shows it but won't load it probably due to a lack of DirectShow on my computer. Although I've built quite a few computers, we're getting into areas I don't know a lot about. I ran dxdiag, and my computer is currently running DirectX12. I found a DirectShow.net available on SourceForge , described as a large collection of "filters." Is that what I need to install? Couldn't find any downloads on the Microsoft site. If my interpretations of the websites I've found is correct, DirectShow stopped being included with DirectX distributions at.... DirectX9, I think?

Sorry to keep harping away at this... so close, though. Can anyone point me to exactly what to install, and maybe where to get it? I'm overly cautious with this stuff.... I don't like to take chances with my machines.

Thanks again for all the help.
  #9  
Old March 21st 21, 03:19 PM posted to rec.audio.pro
Barry B
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 30
Default Blast from Past w/ Migrating Plugin question

Just a quick addition...

When I try to activate the plugin within Samplitude, I get the message, "Either this plugin have not been correctly installed, or your 30-day demo time may have expired." When I installed the Timeworks 4080L plugin, I did get the "successfully registered!" message after inputting my registration code. Is the error message the expected result of the lack of DirectShow?
  #10  
Old March 21st 21, 03:26 PM posted to rec.audio.pro
Barry B
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 30
Default Blast from Past w/ Migrating Plugin question

On Sunday, March 21, 2021 at 11:19:40 AM UTC-4, Barry B wrote:
> Just a quick addition...
>
> When I try to activate the plugin within Samplitude, I get the message, "Either this plugin have not been correctly installed, or your 30-day demo time may have expired." When I installed the Timeworks 4080L plugin, I did get the "successfully registered!" message after inputting my registration code. Is the error message the expected result of the lack of DirectShow?


One more quick update... tried it on a 32bit Win 7 Enterprise machine running DirectX11 . Same error message.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a blast from the past, for your entertainment Clyde Slick Audio Opinions 0 June 24th 08 08:01 PM
A blast from the past... Shhhh! I'm Listening to Reason! Audio Opinions 16 March 29th 06 03:42 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2021 AudioBanter.com.
The comments are property of their posters.