#1   Report Post  
Posted to rec.audio.pro
external usenet poster

Default Apologies for age-old question ... AD/DA DAW interface?

I've read about a bajillion reviews and internet opinions and, as usual, opinions vary from "BEST THING EVER" to "I WOULDN'T HOLD A DOOR OPEN WITH ONE"... for pretty much any piece of gear. Hoping to get a little more guidance here...

What I do -

"Classical" (orchestral and chamber) and acoustic jazz (mostly "straight ahead") music recording. Typical session is two to eight mics, and usually no direct or line inputs, all simultaneously input. There have been a few times when I've wished for a few more mic channels. On very rare occasions I do some light overdubbing. No real interest in using high sampling rates due to increased system demands and increased TIM with very minimal (if any) gains in fidelity. Most recordings done at 24/48 or 16/44.1.

What I've been using for many years -

A two-channel Great River mic pre with balanced and unbalanced outputs (LOVE IT).
An Apogee PSX100.
Earthworks QTC1 or Neumann KM184 pairs, typically, depending upon room.

Those are my good two channels. When I need more, I've just used mic prefader outs of a Mackie VLZ1404. Don't hate me. It's what I have, and this stuff was all purchased back in the starvation years; I saved and paid what was VERY long green back then for me for two really good channels.

My interface is an M-audio Delta1010; internal card w/ breakout box, eight channels of analog input, and SPDIF (fed from the Apogee), feeding a Win 7 machine running Samplitude 11.5.

What I want -

More channels of high quality mic preamps, above all.
The ability to get all of those channels simultaneously through high quality conversion by an interface.

What I want to spend -

As little as possible to get quality gear. Hoping to stay under $2K.

What I'm considering -